Back to journalacv capsules

Apple Cider Vinegar Tablets and Capsules: How Much Vinegar Is Actually In Them

By Vitgem Nutrition TeamPublished 19 Oct 202610 min read
Apple Cider Vinegar Tablets and Capsules: How Much Vinegar Is Actually In Them
Quick answer: Apple cider vinegar tablets and capsules exist to skip the taste of liquid vinegar, and the trade-off is how little the milligram figure on the front actually tells you. In Great Britain that number is a legal declaration of the weight of the vinegar ingredient per daily portion[3], not of its acid. Dried vinegar is spray dried onto a carbohydrate carrier[7], and neither the supplement labelling rules nor the ingredients rules require the acetic acid content beside it.

What apple cider vinegar tablets and capsules actually contain

Apple cider vinegar tablets and capsules contain dried vinegar rather than vinegar. Tablets, capsules and what shoppers call pills are the same dose form here. A 2021 US patent application describes the two industrial routes in use: neutralising the vinegar so that sodium diacetate precipitates, or "enrobing and spray drying an acidic vinegar within carriers of carbohydrate gum or dextrin"[7].

A low mound of pale beige apple cider vinegar powder in a shallow dish with dried apple rings on a mint paper card
Dried apple cider vinegar is a powder rather than a concentrate. The published industrial routes either neutralise the vinegar or spray dry it onto a carbohydrate carrier, so the powder is part vinegar solids and part carrier.

The carrier is not a trace. The same application cites earlier prior art for a powder comprising "up to 60% spray dried vinegar" enrobed in a carrier of "25 to 95% carbohydrate gums and 30 to 95% dextrin"[7]. On a composition like that, a substantial share of the milligram figure is the material holding the vinegar in powder form.

How common that composition is on British shelves is not known: we found no published survey of UK-market apple cider vinegar supplement compositions.

The Food Standards Agency defines a food supplement as a concentrated source of a substance with a nutritional or physiological effect "sold in dose form"[5]. Dose form makes a food countable and swallowable. It does not, on its own, make that food concentrated in acid.

How the milligram figure on the label relates to liquid vinegar

The milligram figure does not convert into millilitres of liquid vinegar, and the label does not carry what you would need to convert it. Regulation 6 of the GB food supplement rules requires the amount of a substance with a nutritional or physiological effect to be given "in numerical form", per the portion recommended for daily consumption[3].

Three things break the sum. The strength of the source vinegar is not stated, and vinegar contains "4 to 18% acetic acid" according to the UK Health Security Agency[4]. Our own gummy's label happens to declare its vinegar at 5%, near the bottom of that range, but nothing obliges anyone to print it. The share of the powder that is carrier is not stated. Nor is the acid remaining after drying.

Set a 300 mg tablet beside a 2,000 mg capsule and the larger number looks like almost seven times the vinegar. It may not be.

One rule does help. Every ingredient must appear "in descending order of weight"[6]. Where a carrier such as maltodextrin is listed ahead of the apple cider vinegar, the carrier is the heavier part of the mixture — often the most informative line on the pack.

What a GB food supplement label must tell you about apple cider vinegar, and what it need not
Information a shopper wants Required on a GB food supplement label? Source
Amount of apple cider vinegar per recommended daily portion, in numerical form Required reg 6(3)[3]
The portion recommended for daily consumption Required reg 6(2)[3]
A warning not to exceed that daily dose Required reg 6(2)[3]
A statement that supplements are not a substitute for a varied diet Required reg 6(2)[3]
Every ingredient, in descending order of weight Required art 18(1)[6]
The acetic acid content of the dried vinegar Not required reg 6[3]; art 18[6]
The volume of liquid vinegar the dose corresponds to Not required reg 6[3]; art 18[6]

Sources: the instruments named in each row. "Not required" means the requirement does not appear in those two instruments.

What a UK label is allowed to say about apple cider vinegar

A label sold in Great Britain may state what is in the product and how much, and may not tell you what the vinegar will do. The Department of Health and Social Care maintains the Great Britain nutrition and health claims register, and its rule is flat: "Only authorised claims in the Great Britain NHC register may be used in Great Britain"[2].

The Food Standards Agency draws the boundary in the same place. Because food supplements "are not medicinal products, they should not be sold with claims that they can prevent, treat or cure a medical condition", which the FSA states "is an offence"[5].

What are the benefits of taking apple cider vinegar tablets?

The defensible benefits of apple cider vinegar tablets are practical rather than physiological: no taste to get past, no measuring, and a fixed weight of dried vinegar each time. Nothing beyond that may be stated on a UK label, because only claims authorised in the Great Britain register may be used[2].

That boundary has more than one enforcer. A product "presented as having properties of preventing or treating disease" meets the medicines definition on the MHRA's presentation limb[8] — a different regulator from the one policing nutrition claims. What research on vinegar as a food has and has not shown is a separate question from what a tablet contains; our piece on cider vinegar gummies benefits deals with the evidence side of it.

What are apple cider vinegar capsules good for?

Apple cider vinegar capsules are good for delivering a repeatable weight of dried vinegar without a spoon, a glass of water or a taste, which is a dosing convenience rather than a physiological one. Under GB rules that is close to the limit of what a seller may put on the pack[2].

The label must also name "the category of any vitamin or mineral or other substance with a nutritional or physiological effect which characterises the product"[3], which is why the front of a pack says apple cider vinegar rather than acetic acid. The difference between a capsule and a tablet then shows up in the ingredient list, in descending order of weight[6], where a shell or a tablet's compression aids become visible.

Do apple cider vinegar capsules work?

Whether apple cider vinegar capsules work cannot be settled from a label, and the only published product analysis we are aware of raises a prior question about whether the label describes the contents. Hill and colleagues tested eight apple cider vinegar tablet products for pH, component acid content and microbial growth after an adverse event was reported to them[1].

They found "considerable variability... between the brands in tablet size, pH, component acid content, and label claims", and concluded, carefully, that "doubt remains as to whether apple cider vinegar was in fact an ingredient in the evaluated products"[1]. That is a 2005 US study, not a verdict on the current UK shelf, and the authors framed it as doubt rather than proof.

Two identical mounds of pale powder side by side on a mint paper card with a coral paper marker between them
Two supplements can declare the same milligram figure and still differ in what they hold. The number counts the weight of the vinegar ingredient per daily portion, and no rule above requires the acetic acid content to appear beside it.

What are the potential side effects of taking apple cider vinegar tablets?

The side effect specific to apple cider vinegar tablets is the tablet itself. That product analysis was prompted by a reported case of oesophageal injury attributed to an apple cider vinegar tablet, and the testing followed from that single report[1]. A compressed acid tablet that stops on the way down rests against tissue instead of passing.

One reported case does not establish a common risk, and the paper does not claim that it does. The practical implication is narrow: a tablet needs enough water and an upright swallow. The NHS lists "a feeling that food is stuck in your throat or chest" among the signs of swallowing problems[9]. GB labels must also carry "a warning not to exceed the stated recommended daily dose"[3].

Who should not take apple cider vinegar tablets?

Anyone with difficulty swallowing has reason to be careful with apple cider vinegar tablets. The NHS describes dysphagia as problems swallowing, "usually caused by certain medicines or another condition, such as acid reflux or a stroke", and lists "coughing or choking when eating or drinking" among the signs[9]. Speaking to a pharmacist or GP first is the sensible step.

Two further limits come from the label rules themselves. Every GB supplement must carry "a statement to the effect that the product should be stored out of the reach of young children"[3]. It must also state that "food supplements should not be used as a substitute for a varied diet"[3]. Both mark who the dose form was designed for.

Is it better to take apple cider vinegar pills in the morning or at night?

No GB labelling rule specifies a time of day for apple cider vinegar pills, and no authorised claim exists that would let a label call one time better than another[2]. What the three GB instruments require is "the portion of the product recommended for daily consumption" and a warning not to exceed it[3] — a quantity per day, not an hour.

The constraint that does attach to a tablet or capsule is mechanical rather than metabolic: whenever it is taken, it needs enough water and an upright swallow. Questions about how a dose is diluted or spaced through the day belong to the liquid rather than to the dose form; our guide on how to take apple cider vinegar covers dilution, amount and mealtimes.

What happens if I take apple cider vinegar pills every day?

Taking apple cider vinegar pills every day means taking the recommended daily portion the label states, which GB rules require to be printed alongside "a warning not to exceed the stated recommended daily dose"[3]. No outcome beyond that may be promised, since only register-authorised claims may be used in Great Britain[2].

There is also a rule against the implied argument for taking one at all. Regulation 6(4) prohibits labelling, presentation or advertising carrying "any mention, express or implied, that a balanced and varied diet cannot provide appropriate quantities of nutrients in general"[3]. The FSA's position matches it: supplements "are not intended to replace a varied and balanced diet"[5].

How long does it take for apple cider vinegar pills to kick in?

No time to onset can be quoted for apple cider vinegar pills, because an onset time is a claim about an effect, and only claims authorised in the Great Britain register may be used[2]. A label offering a number of days or minutes would be making a claim it is not permitted to make.

A stated onset would also push at the medicines boundary. The MHRA's function limb covers a substance used "with a view to restoring, correcting or modifying a physiological function by exerting a pharmacological, immunological or metabolic action"[8]. What can be checked instead is composition: the declared amount per daily portion[3], and the ingredient list in descending order of weight[6].

Key takeaways
  • The milligram figure declares the weight of the vinegar ingredient per recommended daily portion — not of acetic acid.
  • Dried vinegar is spray dried onto a carbohydrate carrier, or neutralised to precipitate sodium diacetate; cited prior art puts spray-dried vinegar at up to 60% of such a powder.
  • Vinegar contains 4 to 18% acetic acid, and the label does not state which strength was dried, so 300 mg and 2,000 mg products are not comparable on the front of the pack.
  • Neither the GB food supplement labelling rules nor article 18 of Regulation 1169/2011 requires acetic acid content, or a liquid-vinegar equivalent, on the label.
  • A 2005 US analysis of eight apple cider vinegar tablet products found considerable variability in tablet size, pH, acid content and label claims.

If you are comparing apple cider vinegar tablets and capsules against other formats across our gummy range, our apple cider vinegar gummies, 500 mg per daily portion declare that vinegar at 5% acetic acid — the second figure being the line no rule above requires anyone to print.

Related reading

For how the dose form itself affects what a supplement delivers, see do gummy vitamins work. The same tablet-versus-gummy arithmetic, applied to a botanical extract, runs through our guide to ashwagandha pills.

References

  1. Hill LL, Woodruff LH, Foote JC, Barreto-Alcoba M. Esophageal injury by apple cider vinegar tablets and subsequent evaluation of products. Journal of the American Dietetic Association 2005;105(7):1141–4. doi:10.1016/j.jada.2005.04.003. link
  2. Department of Health and Social Care. Great Britain nutrition and health claims (NHC) register. GOV.UK, updated 19 May 2026. link
  3. The Food Supplements (England) Regulations 2003, SI 2003/1387, regulation 6 — link; the parallel instruments carrying the same regulation 6 particulars are The Food Supplements (Scotland) Regulations 2003, SSI 2003/278 (link) and The Food Supplements (Wales) Regulations 2003, WSI 2003/1719 (W. 186) (link). legislation.gov.uk.
  4. UK Health Security Agency. Acetic acid: general information. GOV.UK, updated 26 November 2024. link
  5. Food Standards Agency. Food supplements guidance. GOV.UK, updated 25 June 2026. link
  6. Retained Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 on the provision of food information to consumers, article 18. legislation.gov.uk. link
  7. Sillick M, Gregson CM. Vinegar dried within a natural carrier. US patent application US20210301236A1, published 30 September 2021, Paragon Flavors Inc. link
  8. Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency. Borderline products: how to tell if your product is a medicine. GOV.UK, updated 2 July 2026. link
  9. NHS. Dysphagia (swallowing problems). nhs.uk, last reviewed 2 May 2023. link
V
Vitgem Nutrition Team
Last updated 19 Oct 2026

Written and fact-checked by the Vitgem Nutrition Team. Our articles are researched against UK regulatory guidance and authoritative sources such as the NHS, MHRA and EFSA, and reviewed for food-supplement compliance under our editorial policy. This is general information, not medical advice — always speak to your GP or pharmacist about your individual health.